2019 Texas Environmental Excellence Award for Education

EcoRise Receives 2019 Texas Environmental Excellence Award for Education

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality revealed the winners of the prestigious Texas Environmental Excellence Awards on Friday, March 1, 2019. Governor Greg Abbott and TCEQ commissioners jointly selected the ten winners—based on recommendations from a Blue-Ribbon Committee—in nine categories.

In the 27th annual edition of these awards, EcoRise is thrilled to be honored amongst such a great group of people and organizations who are creating programs that inspire less water or energy usage, educate the public about natural resources and sustainability, and reduce pollution and waste.

“I am proud to announce this year’s winners,” says TCEQ Chairman Jon Niermann. “Not only are they innovative, but each one demonstrates a commitment to our state’s environment that should inspire all Texans to follow their lead.”

Here are the TEEA categories and the honorees for each:

  • Pollution Prevention: Huntsman Petrochemical LLC
  • Education: EcoRise
  • Civic/Community: The Meadows Center for Water and the Environment
  • Environmental Educator of the Year: Candace Printz, Art Instructor at El Dorado High School
  • Environmental Educator of the Year: Linda Dunn, Education Manager at the John Bunker Sands Wetland Center
  • Innovative Operations/Management: BAE Systems, Inc.
  • Technical/Technology: City of Lago Vista
  • Youth: Texas 4-H Youth Development
  • Agriculture: Texas Native Seeds Program, Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute, Texas A&M University-Kingsville
  • Water Conservation: Texas A&M University, Texas AgriLife Research

Read more about this year’s winners here.

TEEA winners will be recognized at a banquet on May 15 as part of the TCEQ’s Environmental Trade Fair and Conference at the Austin Convention Center.

View the original press release here.